It’s official

I’m actually being paid to freelance. It ain’t much, but it’s a start.  Looks like I’ll be doing semi-regular stories for the Arkansas Times.

I’m, like, totally excited.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Amelia said,

    Congratulations! I wish I could get paid to freelance.

    Amelia

  2. 2

    Tipper said,

    Well like congrats!!!

  3. 3

    I was born in Newton County – about 5 miles outside the three-houses-and-a-store town of Lurton. My grandparents lived there and that’s where my parents met in1940. My dad was in the CCC and worked on the roads and bridges in that county. When he returned from WWII they tried to make a go of the farm where my grandparents had lived but soon decided it wasn’t going to make a living for all of them so they moved to Pine Bluff. I have great memories of going back to visit a great aunt and uncle there. It’s some of the most beautiful country God ever made. Blessings, marlene

  4. 4

    hillbillymfa said,

    I know Lurton very well. My own grandfather worked in the CCC up there too and my grandmother Waldo (nee Light) was born in Newton County too. I bet your people know my people some how :). It is one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever seen, for sure.

  5. 5

    OMG, my grandparents were Lights. This is really …. too much of a coincidence. I’m having cold chills. My grandfather was Christopher Columbus Light….my grandmother’s name was Mattie. Do you think we might be related?

  6. 6

    hillbillymfa said,

    It’s very possible! I seem to remember a Christopher Light in my family research. I’ll have to look at my family tree on Geni.com to see. I wouldn’t be at all surprised :).


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

