Insomniac Hillbilly Does More Sundown Research

I think I’ve had 4 hours of sleep in the last 20. In the meantime, I’ve done some more web research on “Sundown Towns” and stumbled across Loewen’s book website and research portal, which lists a really cool map of suspected sundown towns around the country.  Dover’s on the list. 

And of course, I didn’t do the whole state must justice by not linking this very nice summaryof sundown towns in the state.   There’s a couple of YouTube excerpts of the documentary “Banished” on the Arkansas Times blog. I also stumbled across a scholarly paper on how the “sundown” culture of the Ozarks influenced Wal-Mart’s mangerial culture.

I came across proof of current extreme racism in the area.   Don’t click on that link if you are easily angered, by the way.  Or if you are made the least bit uncomfortable by the idea that a hate-group would call the Ozarks a “natural fortress.”  

I’m not sure what I’m going to do with all this information, although I did submit my “oral history” evidence to Dr. Loewen’s website.   

Leave a Reply

