Arkansas Weather and Becoming a Cliche

It is sleeting outside.  I’ve been waiting all night for the snow to start falling but it hasn’t quite reached us yet.  Russellville apparently got several inches last night.  The weather forecast was pretty bleak. We were supposed to have 2 – 3 inches of snow by now and gather several more inches by late afternoon.  I waited up until 1:00 a.m.  It hadn’t snowed yet, but the forecast was just so dire. I fell victim to the general Arkansas hysteria related to ice and snow. If this was going on in Colorado, folks would laugh at me. My North Dakotan fiancee thinks we’re all insane when it comes to our cultural terror of bad weather.   

So I’m working from home today and my students are getting a snow day. I felt guilty about it until a few minutes ago.  My classes would just be starting about now.  The sleet is really coming down.  It’s quite possible I’d get stuck down south.   Therefore, I’m busy beefing up the blog and working on a submission proposal. 

I stumbled across this blog a few days ago.  It’s a snarky faux-anthropological look at “white people” which more properly translates into pretentious over-educated yuppiesque liberal white people.  According to this post, I am a cliche of myself, because I’m one of those poor saps who “. . . by their second year they usually wake up with a hangover and realize: “I’m going to spend six years in graduate school to make $35,000 and live in the middle of nowhere?”

Except I didn’t wake up.  I went ahead and finished.  The rest pretty much sums up my life.  I did, at least, get a job working in my field ;).  

I think it was worth it.  At least I get to spend my time thinking about stuff I like all day, instead of selling my brainpower toward the benefit of some institution I secretly hate.   If the price of that is poverty and back-breaking debt, well, whatever. 

Either way, I can’t deny that the writer manages to nail my particular personal cliche with a hysterical grace.  

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Amy Jude said,

    This is freakin’ hilarious. I want to be enraged, but I’m really too amused to even manage mildly humiliated. I’m in my fifth year of trying to finish my two-year MFA, and currently thinking over strategies for aiming at a 6th year finish. Although I’m laughing at myself, I’m not sure I would actually categorize graduate school as something I “like.” It’s more like “is/are addicted to.”

    You remember that day that we stopped to read the invitation to oral sex on the sidewalk on the KSU campus and ended up laughing at ourselves for analyzing text written in chalk on a sidewalk?

    Graduate school.

    Yeah, it’s like that. 🙂

  2. 2

    hillbillymfa said,

    I am not at all surprised that you and I over analyzed an invitation to oral sex in chalk on a sidewalk when we were in Manhattan. I remember having some extremely funny and interesting coversations with you that fit right into the category of “absurdly nerdy.”

    I know what you mean about wanting to be outraged. But whatever, man. He nailed it. I can’t deny that. LOL.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

