I1B2a — Another riff on DNA

On my father’s side of the family, the key genetic signature seems to be haplotype I1c (or 11b2a. Don’t ask me to explain the naming systems for haplotypes, I would go up in glorious flames).  This particular variant on I is somewhat rare, but shows more prominently in three major places. The first is Ireland, Scotland and Norway. The second is the “Anglo-Saxon” area of Denmark and Germany. Finally, there’s the “Celtic” or Iberians from Southern France and Spain. 

In a previous post, I wrote about my grandfather Isaac and his journey from Ireland to the United States.  I’m trying to discover whether or not Issac was native Irish who converted to Quakerism or if his family moved to Ireland after the Puritan oppression of the Quakers in the mid-1600’s. 

Knowing Isaac’s Haplotype only complicates the picture.  Because I’m still learning to interpret the results of publicly available data on the family’s DNA signature, I can’t narrow things down any further.  Therefore, it appears that Isaac could have come from “traditional” Pictish/Celtic stock who moved from Iberia into the “Isles.”  He could come from the “Anglo-Saxon” regions of Germany and Denmark.  He could also be related to the medieval Viking invaders in Scotland, Ireland, or England.   I have discovered, however, that the Lincolnshire, England Bartons and our line do not appear to be closely related at all.  In fact, according to the data gathered by the Barton Historical Society, the family line appears to be only distantly related to almost all the other “Barton” named families.

Leave a Reply

